5_stars.svg

5 stars

Terry Pratchett is one of my all-time favourite authors and his death earlier this year [this was first published on goodreads in 2015] really saddened me, but I’m definitely not one to put him on a pedestal. I am aware that some of his works are duds and so after Pyramids and Guards! Guards!, both of which – while very good – fell short in some way or another for me, this is a welcome treat.

Eric is such a perfect specimen of that man’s genius, full of witticisms, incisive analysis of our own world, clever parody (this whole thing is a parody of Faust) and moments that really make you think. I had one of the biggest existential crises I’ve ever had while reading the parts set at the beginning and the end of the universe, both brilliantly thought out. I’m one of those people who loves to hypothesise about such things and so it was a glorious, though obviously disconcerting, crisis.

I don’t have much more to say about this book, but it’s a really quick read and full of everything that made me fall in love with Terry Pratchett’s writing in the first place. Pratchett fans, make sure you read this book if you weren’t sure! I think it would also be a good introduction to Discworld and his writing in general, so if you are looking for a good starter book, give this one a go.

